Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Chara Up For Norris Trophy [VIDEO]

Boston Bruins captain Zdeno Chara is one of three finalists for the NHL Norris Trophy, the award given to the NHL’s top all-around defenseman. Chicago’s Duncan Keith and Nashville’s Shea Weber are the other two finalists.

This is the sixth time Chara has been a finalist for the Norris. He won the award in 2008-2009.

Chara finished in the top 10 defensemen catagories for goals (17), powerplay goals (10), game winning goals (3) and plus/minus (+25). He averaged 24:39 minutes of ice time.

The winner is announced on June 24th.

Chara joins fellow Bruin Tuukka Rask and Patrice Bergeron already named for NHL’s big awards. Rask is up for the Vezina Trophy(top goalie) and Bergeron for the Selke Award(top defensive forward).


Here is the list of past Norris Trophy winners…

2013 — P.K. Subban, Montreal
2012 — Erik Karlsson, Ottawa
2011 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2010 — Duncan Keith, Chicago
2009 — Zdeno Chara, Boston
2008 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2007 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2006 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2005 — Lockout
2004 — Scott Niedermayer, New Jersey
2003 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2002 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2001 — Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2000 — Chris Pronger, St. Louis
1999 — Al MacInnis, St. Louis
1998 — Rob Blake, Los Angeles
1997 — Brian Leetch, N.Y. Rangers
1996 — Chris Chelios, Chicago
1995 — Paul Coffey, Detroit
1994 — Ray Bourque, Boston
1993 — Chris Chelios, Chicago
1992 — Brian Leetch, N.Y. Rangers
1991 — Ray Bourque, Boston
1990 — Ray Bourque, Boston
1989 — Chris Chelios, Montreal
1988 — Ray Bourque, Boston
1987 — Ray Bourque, Boston
1986 — Paul Coffey, Edmonton
1985 — Paul Coffey, Edmonton
1984 — Rod Langway, Washington
1983 — Rod Langway, Washington
1982 — Doug Wilson, Chicago
1981 — Randy Carlyle, Pittsburgh
1980 — Larry Robinson, Montreal
1979 — Denis Potvin, N.Y. Islanders
1978 — Denis Potvin, N.Y. Islanders
1977 — Larry Robinson, Montreal
1976 — Denis Potvin, N.Y. Islanders
1975 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1974 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1973 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1972 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1971 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1970 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1969 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1968 — Bobby Orr, Boston
1967 — Harry Howell, N.Y. Rangers
1966 — Jacques Laperriere, Montreal
1965 — Pierre Pilote, Chicago
1964 — Pierre Pilote, Chicago
1963 — Pierre Pilote, Chicago
1962 — Doug Harvey, N.Y. Rangers
1961 — Doug Harvey, Montreal
1960 — Doug Harvey, Montreal
1959 — Tom Johnson, Montreal
1958 — Doug Harvey, Montreal
1957 — Doug Harvey, Montreal
1956 — Doug Harvey, Montreal
1955 — Doug Harvey, Montreal
1954 — Red Kelly, Detroit

Best of WBLM

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for 102.9 WBLM quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive 102.9 WBLM contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.