Maine Marijuana Guidelines Released, Would You Start a Business?
According to the Portland Press Herald, Maine now has some rules for recreational marijuana.
- To open a marijuana business in Maine, you must be at least 21 years old.
- You must have lived in Maine for at least four years, that rule is in effect through June of 2021.
- Security must be top notch; with locking windows and doors, 24 hour monitored alarm security and security video must be saved for at least 45 days.
- There will be no confusing pot edibles with candy for children. Marijuana edibles shaped like characters, animals or people are not allowed.
- Not everyone will be eligible to sell. Those excluded include: law enforcement officers, state employees, applicants with felony convictions in the last 10 years for a non-marijuana crime and anyone who has lost their marijuana license in Maine or another state.
- How high can you fly? The total amount of THC in a product is limited to to more than 100 mg, no more than 10 mg for a single serving.
- Retail hours are allowed between 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.
- The amount of usable pot that you can buy in a day is limited to no more than 2.5 oz. and edibles top off at 5 grams of total THC content, or five grams of concentrate a day.
- Licenses range from nurseries to grow facilities. The price of licenses range from between $9 for a small craft grower with no more than 30 outdoor plants, to as much as $30,000 for the huge indoor growing facilities.
Have you tossed around the idea of become a marijuana producer or build a pot-based business? Comment on our Fan Page.